Gayatri mantra…..blue sky

Photo by Sarah Dufresne

crisp fresh fall air, brilliant blue sky, radiant sunshine all around

 

gayatri mantra: discovering who I was, more of myself and who I am to become.

I think back now and realize how truly blessed I feel to have had all these moments of recognition.  I realize that not everyone receives these gifts, or is able to receive them.  Most recent days time flies by and I barely remember to breathe, but I know that even if it’s in the back of my mind, a small reminder to want to take a moment of pause, makes all the difference.

Gayatri mantra arrived brand new to me on a whim.  Needing to spend some time outside of the monkey mind and connect in another way to LIFE, this mantra showed up in the most beautiful way.  It was winter, clean fresh snow falling outside and the confines of my mind causing me to feel trapped inside my body.  The melody, the rhythm, sweet sounds of a voice singing this mantra during a stay at Kripalu, I was smitten.  When I heard the words I immediately closed my eyes and felt surrounded by beautiful light.  Able to step away from the chatter inside my brain and to find a few moments of solace, ease and gratitude.

The Gayatri mantra

Om bhur bhuvah svaha
Tat savitur varenyam
Bargo devasya dhimahi
Dhiyo yona prachodayat

the translation is,

I reflect on the unity of Divine Spirit, which pervades everything in the earth, the atmosphere and heavens. May this Supreme Consciousness protect me and illuminate my intellect that I may realize my inherent oneness with That.  I meditate on the great luminous light that enlightens all three worlds.  May it enlighten all.

I am peace. I am LOVE. I am perfect exactly as I am. This mantra reassured me that the wisdom I hear deep inside, is a personal guide that will keep me on the path to my authentic self.

Often it is when we reflect that we see the beauty in all things.  This morning as I opened my day with a gentle practice under the brilliant blue sky, I turned to open my chest and raise my hand to the sky and there in the distance was the crescent moon, a crisp white crescent dissolving into the background of the blue sky.  I smiled and took a deep breath………ahh here is the moment in which I will look upon in my memory, be present now.  Take it all in.

be HERE now.  ‘Reflect upon the earth, the atmosphere and heavens.’  Perfect timing universe, perfect timing.

enjoy this day

~screaming gratitude

 

Tell us what you think....

