earning the right to express vulnerability

‘People have to earn the right for you to express your vulnerability.’

-Brene’ Brown

Photo by Sarah Dufresne

quiet morning. cat stretch. whispering leaves swirling on the streets below. fall how I love thee.

This morning I woke to the autumn moon outside my window. Flickering white light beaming across my hard wooden floors. Peaceful, quiet and brilliant. Moving slowly, waking up with soft movements, ease and quiet, deep inside arose JOY. Over the course of the last few days, last few years really, I have been drawn to chanting, mantras and all things musical. This morning the ‘Hare Krishna’ chant echoed in not only my ears but inside my heart. I felt the residual JOY from my previous days chanting, singing and happiness I could not help but wake with a smile across my face.

Chanting can be a messy thing. It only takes one note, one word, one call and response for it to shudder through my entire being. I am sensitive to the energies that surround me and when I am amongst others chanting, saying mantras in such a way, I feel it so deeply inside my core. For me chanting is a way in which I can speak directly to my own heart. A vulnerable moment in which I accept myself, I allow others to see me and accept me as I am, messy, perfect, contained and spilling over all at the same time. It is not a picnic often at most kirtans, it is a journey, as is LIFE. Let me invite you to sit besides me sometime and listen with YOUR heart and tell me what you hear.

 

enjoy your Tuesday morning cat stretch

enjoy this day

~screaming gratitude

Tell us what you think....

